Heidi W. Durrow to Join Words & Music Faculty!

Heidi W. Durrow by Timothi Jane Graham

As the countdown to registration continues, the Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society is thrilled to announce that author Heidi W. Durrow will join the faculty at this year’s Words & Music: A Literary Feast in New Orleans.

Heidi is a graduate of Stanford, Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism, and Yale Law School. She is the recipient of a Fellowship in Fiction from the New York Foundation for the Arts, a Jerome Foundation Fellowship for Emerging Writers, and a Jentel Foundation Residency. She won top honors in the Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition and the Chapter One Fiction Contest. She has received grants from the Elizabeth George Foundation, the American Scandinavian Foundation, the Roth Endowment, and the American Antiquarian Society.

Originally from Portland, OR, Heidi has worked as a corporate litigator at Cravath, Swaine & Moore, and as a consultant to the National Football League and National Basketball Association. She is the co-host of the award-winning weekly podcast Mixed Chicks Chat; and the co-founder and co-producer of the Mixed Roots Film & Literary Festival, an annual public event that celebrates stories of the mixed experience.

Heidi received acclaimed author Barbara Kingsolver’s 2008 Bellwether Prize for Literature of Social Change for The Girl Who Fell From the Sky, her first novel that reveals an unfathomable past and explores issues of identity at a time when many people are asking “Must race confine us and define us?” In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid’s Annie John and Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl—and society’s ideas of race, class, and beauty.

“Out of the clear blue, here is a breathless telling of a tale we’ve never heard before. Haunting and lovely, pitch-perfect, this book could not be more timely.”Barbara Kingsolver

“A remarkable novel. It unfolds its secrets with the perfect placement of a mystery—I had trouble putting it down—while its core story about a mother’s desperate act recalls the insights of a writer no less than Toni Morrison. Durrow writes fearlessly about race, memory, and family—she is a writer to watch.Joan Silber, author of Ideas of Heaven: A Ring of Stories (National Book Award Finalist)

“Like a good mystery, this book builds to the startling revelation. One can’t help but be drawn in by these characters and by the novel’s exploration of race and identity.”—Library Journal

“Taut prose, a controversial conclusion and the thoughtful reflection on racism and racial identity resonate without treading into political or even overtly specific agenda waters, as the story succeeds as both a modern coming-of-age and relevant social commentary.” Publishers Weekly

“The Girl Who Fell From the Sky is that rare thing: a post-postmodern novel with heart that weaves a circle of stories about race and self-discovery into a tense and sometimes terrifying whole.” —Ms. Magazine

Learn more about Heidi Durrow: CLICK HERE!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>